Teenage Fanclub Announce New Album ‘Nothing Lasts Forever’ | News

Clash Logo

Teenage Fanclub will release new album ‘Nothing Lasts Forever’ on September 22nd.

The Scottish indie legends underwent a line up shift after 2016’s ‘Here’, returning with a slightly overhauled constitution in 2021 with their fine ‘Endless Arcade’ LP.

New album ‘Nothing Lasts Forever’ continues their adventures, a 10 track LP that opens with lead single ‘Foreign Land’. A dismissal of the past and a desire for the future, it pivots between their trademark late summer indie pop and Krautrock aspects, throwing in some neat, Nuggets style keys, too.

It’s doubtful if Teenage Fanclub have ever written a band song, and they certainly aren’t about to start now – a hymn to self-belief and the joy of new challenges, ‘Foreign Land’ has a quietly inspiring quality. They sing:  “It’s time to move along / and leave the past behind me…”

The video was shot by long-time friend Donald Milne, using a historic site just outside Glasgow. Teenage Fanclub comment… 

“The song is about moving forward, not dwelling on the past. We shot the video in Hamilton Mausoleum, near Glasgow. Given that the album is called ‘Nothing Lasts Forever’ we thought it would be appropriate to shoot a video inside a tomb”.

Tune in now.

1. Foreign Land
2. Tired Of Being Alone
3. I Left A Light On
4. See The Light
5. It’s Alright
6. Falling Into The Sun
7. Self-Sedation
8. Middle Of My Mind
9. Back To The Light
10. I Will Love You

Photo Credit: Donald Milne

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.