Jenny Lewis announces fifth solo album with new single “Psychos”

Jenny Lewis announces fifth solo album with new single "Psychos"

“Psychos” marks Lewis’ first new material since “Puppy and a Truck” landed in November 2021. The 2021 track will also appear on Lewis’ upcoming album, and the video, unveiled at the start of the month, featured a cameo from Harry Styles.

Joy’All will be Lewis’ fifth solo full-length, following 2019’s On The Line, and first for Blue Note/EMI Records. It’s produced by Grammy-winning producer Dave Cobb (John Prine, Brandi Carlile, Chris Stapleton, Jason Isbell), who Lewis met by chance while visiting the band Lucius at RCA Studio A in Nashville.

Lewis says, “I started writing some of these songs on the road, pre-pandemic… and then put them aside as the world shut down, and then from my home in Nashville in early 2021, I joined a week-long virtual songwriting workshop with a handful of amazing artists, hosted by Beck. The challenge was to write one
song every day for seven days, with guidelines from Beck. The guidelines would be prompts like ‘write a song with 1-4-5 chord progression,’ ‘write a song with only cliches,’ or ‘write in free form style.’ The first song I submitted to the group was “Puppy and a Truck”.”

“Dave works fast and we cut the bulk of the record with his incredible house band (Nate Smith, Brian Allen and Cobb on guitar, and myself on acoustic guitar & vocals) live on the floor in a couple of weeks,” Lewis continues. “Jess Wolfe came back to the studio to provide background vocals on the record and then Greg Leisz and Jon Brion added pedal steel, B-Bender guitar and Chamberlin, respectively, back in LA.”


  1. Psychos
  2. Joy’All
  3. Puppy and a Truck
  4. Apples and Oranges
  5. Essence of Life
  6. Giddy Up
  7. Cherry Baby
  8. Love Feel
  9. Balcony
  10. Chain of Tears

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.